Left-over delicacy, the sky is my limit

Aside

Since I was a little girl, my parents always tell me and my brother a story about DEWI SRI (or Sri the Goddess).

They said that I shall never throw away any left over rice. I must finnish every grain of rice in my plate, or else, Dewi Sri will zap her anger at me. My mom never really explained what kind of zapping Dewi Sri will do to me, and how much grain of rice being thrown away before she began to unleash the anger. I was just a 4 year old kid, I didn’t questioned it and just scraping the plate incase I miss a grain or two.

Why a goddess become angry to a child whom didn’t finish her meal, you might ask. Well, Dewi Sri is the Goddess for farming, specially rice farmers. So symbolized the fertile soil, luscious green paddy and good harvest. The legend said that she didn’t like when human take rice grains for granted. Hence the threatening story being told as part of typical parenting for most Javanese family.

Until my adult years, the mind set of never throw away rice become part of my life style. And the rule even spreading to any kind of food, all eatable stuff must never being thrown away for nothing. That’s why, when you come to my house and open my fridge, there are plastic clips and containers with left overs.

I always looking for inspiration how to use the left overs, so I can eat them and the others too. I don’t want to eat bad meal just because my left overs are over stocked. I usually force my self to cook anything new or buy take outs, until the left overs’ pile diminish.

I have a rocky road tract record with my left overs delicacy. Some of them were just unsalvageable and couldn’t do anything more to it. The other few were eatable in borderline between mediocre to strange yet familiar. My left over rice soup with eggs and anything available. Some times, I just plain ignorance and put left over steamed rice in an open bowl inside the refrigerator.

And I forget about it for almost a week. Then when I’m in the good mood to re organize my fridge and found a hard-sharp irregular object of a -once before- blob of fluffy rice. It was as hard as my plastic knife. I scratched my teflon pan with it several times before. I couldn’t make fried rice from it, oil just make it gets even harder.

So, I pretend the over saved left over rice were just dried pasta and treat them the same too. Then I making my self a hearty soup from them, very similar if me make noodle soup or macaroni soup. It tasted quite the same too. Well, at least my husband willing to eat them a spoonful or two. He is a big fan of chicken noodle soup.

On a fewer occasion I hit the mark and score some goals with the left overs. Remember my baked spring rolls? Yes, that was a left-over delicacy too. They were dynamite!

I’m sharing some of the better looking leftover delicacy I had made and photographed.

Oseng oseng pasta dan sayur

Dried fussily, left over wood ear mushroom, bean sprout, smoked beef and egg stir fry. Chili sambal as condiment.

Garlic-chili fried rice: behind the scene

Breakfast with Garlic-chili fried rice from the left over night before

When angry, I made this hellish fried rice with assorted chilies

When angry, I made this hellish fried rice with assorted chilies

Mayang style garlic-chili fried rice: Steamy, spicy, extra crunchy.

Successful make over, from cold plain last night rice to smoking hot (literally) fried rice

I have a bunch of faded coriander leaves; I used them to add extra umph on my batter for fried tempe

I have a bunch of faded coriander leaves; I used them to add extra umph on my batter for fried tempe

I had left over blanched broccoli and had enough with cold salad thing; so I made clear broth for a broccoli soup

I had left over blanched broccoli and had enough with cold salad thing; so I made clear broth for a broccoli soup

Left over Tape (fermented cassava) become cassava cake with raisin, no extra sugar needed

Left over Tape (fermented cassava) become cassava cake with raisin, no extra sugar needed

This was years ago, I found a half of gummy bears small package and decide to make jelly with it. It didn't taste very good, the bears released bitterness when hot jelly mixture drowned them.

This was years ago, I found a half of gummy bears small package and decide to make jelly with it. It didn’t taste very good, the bears released bitterness when hot jelly mixture drowned them.

This was also years ago, but I still making the same stuff todays. I use any root veggies and hard fruits scatter around the fridge, julienne them and make savory and spicy fritters.

This was also years ago, but I still making the same stuff todays. I use any root veggies and hard fruits scatter around the fridge, julienne them and make savory and spicy fritters.

Leave a Reply

