I’m having affairs …

Image

 

… with bunch of noodles with kicking broth on a bowl. Served hot or cold, I adore them all.

I can’t denied my asian blood, we do love our noodles in a bowl. Asian culture heritage created recipes that make them tasty and irresistible in most diverse ways of cooking.

Soba in fish stock and sweet tofu, my favorite so far

Soba in hot fish stock and sweet tofu. So simple, but my favorite so far.

Iconic Medan style noodle and (fried) dumplings (filled with shrimp)

Iconic Medan-style glazed noodle (in secret mix of thick sauce) and (fried shrimp) dumplings with very light broth

My mom's best's glass noodles and beef's marrow infused broth with meat balls

My mom’s best’s glass noodles and beef’s bone marrow infused broth with meat balls

Remember my spin on rendang? Its egg noodles with strong beefy broth and toasted coconut sprinkles

Remember my spin on rendang? Its egg noodles with strong beefy broth and toasted coconut sprinkles

Three days later, the strong beefy broth sucked into long macaroni pasta

Three days later, reusing the beefy broth to cook dried long macaroni. the “sauce” now within the pasta

A bowl of hot soba with vegetable fritters and mystery but delicious broth

A bowl of soba with vegetable fritters and mystery but delicious hot broth

glass noodles in fish stock and fish dumplings. we called this Tek Wan

Glass noodles in warm fish stock with ear mushroom and fish dumplings. We called this Tek Wan.

Vietnamese Beef Pho, with assorted rice noodles and clear broth

Vietnamese Beef Pho, with assorted rice noodles and clear broth

Another version of Medan style chicken noodles. The noodles were hidden under generous toppings (fried dumplings, hard boiled egg in soy sauce, meat balls, greens and the shredded chicken)

Another version of Medan style chicken noodles. The noodles were hidden under generous toppings (fried dumplings, hard boiled egg in soy sauce, meat balls, greens and the shredded chicken)

 

Soba served in cold soy and sesame sauce. A little bit off taste for me, at first. But when I added lime juice and pepper flakes, I had rainbow in my mouth.

Soba served in cold soy sauce with soft boiled egg; shrimp, green chilies and egg plant tempuras. A little bit off taste for me, at first. But when I added lime juice and pepper flakes, I had rainbow in my mouth.

Another bowl of beef pho. Take a look at that glorious fatty meat!

Another bowl of beef pho. Take a look at that glorious fatty meat!

 

Udon in clear hot broth and nori at Dotonbori alley, Osaka. Insanely simple but the taste was mind blowing.

Udon in clear hot broth and nori at Dotonbori alley, Osaka. Insanely simple but the taste was mind blowing.

Soba in hot beef stock

Soba in hot beef stock

I thought it would be disgusting; plain soba in hot broth and fried tempura batter sinked into the broth. I missed my train because I just had to have a second bowl!

I thought it would be disgusting; plain soba in hot broth and fried tempura batter sinked into the broth. I missed my train because I just had to have a second bowl!

 

Udon, served cold with shaved radish, spring onions and lime juice. I only add a touch of soy sauce, and ate it with egg plant tempura.

Udon, served cold with shaved radish, spring onions and lime juice. I only add a touch of soy sauce, and ate it with egg plant tempura.

 

 

Leave a Reply

