Shabby chic ambiance in local hue

Aside

Wak Nur’s Coffee House

I went to Roemah Kopi Wak Nur (roemah = house, but it’s more like a cafe) at Uskup Agung street, Medan, North Sumatera a few months ago.

The coffee quite okay, nothing special for my preference, so did the food. They do have  house brand coffee, The Wak Nur’s brand that got good reviews from coffee enthusiast. But the waitress didn’t share any information about it to us, never promote or gave suggestions of the house specialities. I learn about it when I wandered around the cafe and browsing from the internet.

It’s the ambiance that remind me of it, unfortunately, not the menus. I like it a lot. Like Melayu meet Western or Baju Kurung paired with Cowboy boots or when Siti Nurbaya hooked up with John Wayne to decor this place.

waknur06_wm

Tables and chairs from worn woods met checker-boards floor toned down with pastel earth tones

waknur08_wm

Love that old window, oddly, it didn’t seem out of place and function like art works

waknur04_wm

The house brand

waknur14_wm

My drink; I think it was Iced Cappuccinno

waknur25_wm

Otak-otak, light finger foods from fish paste grilled in banana leaf. It didn’t go very well with my coffee.

waknur03_wm

Mira & Kiky, my cheeky cousin in law that brought me there

For more information about cafes and coffee shops/ house; Kopibrik is one of the better reference.

Leave a Reply

